Image & Narrative

Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples. Each issue features three parts: 1) a thematic cluster, guest-edited by specialized scholars in the field; 2) a selection of various articles; 3) reviews of recent publications. Image [&] Narrative is a bilingual journal, which publishes contributions in either English or French, and which fosters cross-cultural and interdisciplinary dialogue between linguistic and scientific traditions.

Announcements

 

Call for papers 17.2

 

“Le roman graphiqué”: des influences de la BD sur le roman

Transformed by Comics: the influence of comics/BD/graphic novels on the Novel
 
Posted: 2014-05-05 More...
 

Call for Papers

 
Articles can be submitted any time for the 'Various articles' section. For special issues, see CFP above.
 
Posted: 2010-05-14 More...
 

Issues in preparation

 

- "Photographic Text(ure): Grain, Dots, Lines", guest editors Laurence Petit (laurence.petit@univ-montp3.fr) , Université Paul Valéry - Montpellier 3 and Pascale Tollance (pascale.tollance@univ-lyon2.fr), Université Lyon 2, (15.2)

-"Early Photography in Europeana: Collections, Themes, Techniques and their Interrelation" (guest editors): Fred Truyen (fred.truyen@arts.kuleuven.be) & Bruno Vandermeulen (bruno.vandermeulen@arts.kuleuven.be) (15.3).

- "Worth a Thousand Words: At the Intersections of Literture and the Visual Arts", guest editors Astrid Bracke (a.bracke@let.ru.nl) and Dennis Kersten (d.kersten@let.ru.nl), University of Utrecht (15.4)

- "Photofilmic Art: Negotiating Fraught Images in a Contemporary Public Sphere, part 1", ed. Alex Streitberger, UCL/Lieven Gevaert Centre [alex.streitberger@uclouvain.be] (16.1)

- "The Narrative Functions of Photography in Comics" Guest-editor, prof. Nancy Pedri, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, NL (Canada) [npedri@mun.ca] (16.2)

- "Photofilmic Art: Negotiating Fraught Images in a Contemporary Public Sphere, part 2", ed. Alex Streitberger, UCL/Lieven Gevaert Centre [alex.streitberger@uclouvain.be] (16.3)

-"Illustration et construction du récit"/"Illustration and narrative construction", ed. Carole Cambray, Université Paris Diderot [carolecambray@yahoo.fr] (16.4)

-"Illustration et construction du récit"/"Illustration and narrative construction", ed. Carole Cambray, Université Paris Diderot [carolecambray@yahoo.fr] (17.1)

-"Transformed by Comics: the influence of comics/BD/graphic novels on the Novel", guest editors Hugo Frey (h.frey@chi.ac.uk ) and Chris Reyns-Chikuma (reynschi@ualberta.ca). (17.2)

 

 
Posted: 2010-05-11 More...
 
More Announcements...

Vol 15, No 2 (2014): Photographic Text(ure): The Grain and the Dot

Table of Contents

Thematic Cluster

Photographic Text(ure): The Grain and the Dot. Introduction PDF
Laurence Petit, Pascale Tollance 1-6
L’OEil de l’image. Dispositifs méta-photographiques chez les Pictorialistes de Camera Work (1903- 1917) PDF
Mathilde Arrivé 7-25
Point d’arrêt-point d’ouverture. Claude Cahun et la photographie de l’objet surréaliste dans Le Coeur de Pic PDF
Anne Reynes-Delobel 26-45
Du point au grain final. Sur un roman de Jean Ricardou PDF
Jean-Pierre Montier 46-59
Empty Photographic Frames. Punctuating the Narrative PDF
Nancy Pedri 60-76
The photographic grain as punctum in W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz (2001) PDF
Anne-Laure Fortin-Tournès 77-86
Teju Cole’s Photographic Afterimages PDF
Karen Jacobs 87-105

Various Articles

Comics Poetry. Beyond ‘Sequential Art’ PDF
Tamryn Bennett 106-123
Turning the Reel. From Cinema to Cinematic Writing and Back Again: The Case of Franz Kafka’s The Man Who Disappeared PDF
Michiel Rys 124-136

Review Articles

Kathryn Brown, ed.: The Art Book Tradition in Twentieth-Century Europe PDF
Jan Baetens 137-138
Lourdes Carriedo, María Dolores Picazo & María Luisa Guerrero (dir.) Entre escritura e imagen. Lecturas de narrativa contemporánea PDF
Jan Baetens 139-140
Lori Emerson, Reading Writing Interfaces. From the Digital to the Bookbound PDF
Jan Baetens 141-142


Online Magazine of the Visual Narrative - ISSN 1780-678X