Image & Narrative

Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples. Each issue features three parts: 1) a thematic cluster, guest-edited by specialized scholars in the field; 2) a selection of various articles; 3) reviews of recent publications. Image [&] Narrative is a bilingual journal, which publishes contributions in either English or French, and which fosters cross-cultural and interdisciplinary dialogue between linguistic and scientific traditions.

Announcements

 

Call for Papers

 
Articles can be submitted any time for the 'Various articles' section. For special issues, see CFP above.
 
Posted: 2010-05-14 More...
 

Issues in preparation

 

- "Photographic Text(ure): Grain, Dots, Lines", guest editors Laurence Petit (laurence.petit@univ-montp3.fr) , Université Paul Valéry - Montpellier 3 and Pascale Tollance (pascale.tollance@univ-lyon2.fr), Université Lyon 2, (15.2)

-"Early Photography in Europeana: Collections, Themes, Techniques and their Interrelation" (guest editors): Fred Truyen (fred.truyen@arts.kuleuven.be) & Bruno Vandermeulen (bruno.vandermeulen@arts.kuleuven.be) (15.3).

- "Worth a Thousand Words: At the Intersections of Literture and the Visual Arts", guest editors Astrid Bracke (a.bracke@let.ru.nl) and Dennis Kersten (d.kersten@let.ru.nl), University of Utrecht (15.4)

- "Photofilmic Art: Negotiating Fraught Images in a Contemporary Public Sphere, part 1", ed. Alex Streitberger, UCL/Lieven Gevaert Centre [alex.streitberger@uclouvain.be] (16.1)

- "The Narrative Functions of Photography in Comics" Guest-editor, prof. Nancy Pedri, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, NL (Canada) [npedri@mun.ca] (16.2)

- "Photofilmic Art: Negotiating Fraught Images in a Contemporary Public Sphere, part 2", ed. Alex Streitberger, UCL/Lieven Gevaert Centre [alex.streitberger@uclouvain.be] (16.3)

-"Illustration et construction du récit"/"Illustration and narrative construction", ed. Carole Cambray, Université Paris Diderot [carolecambray@yahoo.fr] (16.4)

 

 
Posted: 2010-05-11 More...
 
More Announcements...

Vol 15, No 1 (2014): Metaphor, Bodily Meaning, and Cinema

Table of Contents

Thematic Cluster

Metaphor, Bodily Meaning, and Cinema PDF
Maarten Coëgnarts, Peter Kravanja 1-4
Visual Manifestations of Primary Metaphors Through Mise-en-scène Techniques PDF
María J. Ortiz 5-16
The Visual Representation of Time in the OEuvre of Kore-eda Hirokazu PDF
Merel van Ommen 17-29
On the Embodiment of Binary Oppositions in Cinema. The Containment Schema in John Ford’s Westerns PDF
Maarten Cöegnarts, Peter Kravanja 30-43
Embodied Identity in Werewolf Films of the 1980s PDF
Julius Koetsier, Charles Forceville 44-55
Metaphoric Narratives. Paradigm Scenarios and Metaphors of Shame in Narrative Films PDF
Kathrin Fahlenbrach 56-70
Subjective Cameras Locked-In and Out-of-Body PDF
Christian Quendler 71-88
Turning Away. Embodied Movement in the Perception of Shot Duration PDF
Paul Atkinson 89-101
Figures of Film. Metaphor, Metonymy, and Repetition PDF
Eduardo Urios-Aparisi 102-113

Various Articles

Visual struggles for Identity and Heritage. The Photographic Archives of August Sander and Ernst Friedrich, and the Nazi Censorship PDF
Marcos Fernandes 114-127
Les « degrés d’art » de la reproduction de tableaux. Proust et les prémices de l’industrie culturelle PDF
Erika Wicky 128-138

Review Articles

Vincent Broqua. À partir de rien: esthétique, politique de l’infime PDF
Michel Delville 139-143
Nadja Cohen. Les Poètes modernes et le cinéma (1910-1930). PDF
Jan Baetens 144-146
Jérémy Lambert. Peinture et bibelot. Prégnance du pictural dans l’oeuvre de Joris-Karl Huysmans PDF
Clément Dessy 147-150
Narratology and cognitive sciences. On Lars Bernaerts, Dirk de Geest, Luc Herman, Bart Vervaeck (Eds.), Stories and Minds: Cognitive Approaches to Literary Narrative PDF
Gianluca Consoli 151-153


Online Magazine of the Visual Narrative - ISSN 1780-678X