Image & Narrative

Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples. Each issue features three parts: 1) a thematic cluster, guest-edited by specialized scholars in the field; 2) a selection of various articles; 3) reviews of recent publications. Image [&] Narrative is a bilingual journal, which publishes contributions in either English or French, and which fosters cross-cultural and interdisciplinary dialogue between linguistic and scientific traditions.

Announcements

 

Call for Papers

 
Articles can be submitted any time for the 'Various articles' section. For special issues, see CFP below.
 
Posted: 2010-05-14 More...
 

Issues in preparation

 

-"Transformed by Comics: the influence of comics/BD/graphic novels on the Novel", guest editors Hugo Frey (h.frey@chi.ac.uk ) and Chris Reyns-Chikuma (reynschi@ualberta.ca). (17.3)

- "Comics in Art/Art in Comics", guest editors Erin La Cour, University of Utrecht (erinlacour@gmail.com) and Rik Spanjers, University of Amsterdam (‎r.spanjers@uva.nl). (17.4)

-"Artaud and Cruelty", guest editor Angelos Koutsourakis (angelos.koutsourakis@uq.edu.au). (17.5)

- "The Audiovisual Production of Transcultural Memory in Europe", guest editors Astrid Erll, Univ. Frankfurt (erll@em.uni-frankfurt.de) and Ann Rigney, Univ. Utrecht (a.rigney@uu.nl). (18.1)

-"(Re)politiser les discours sur la photographie", guest-editors Anaïs Mauurin (mauuarin.anais@gmail.com), Eliane de Larminat (elianedelarminat@gmail.com), Vera Leon Escapades (vera.leon.eschapasse@gmail.com) & Alice Morin (alicemorin@laposte.net). (18.2)

-"Horace Walpole", guest editors Dr. Jakub Lipski, Kazimierz Wielki University, Bydgoszcz, Poland (j.lipski@ukw.edu.pl). (18.3)

-"L'expérience de l'erreur en photographie/The Experience of Error in Photography", guest-editor Alexander Streitberger, UCL (alex.streitberger@uclouvain.be) (18.4)

 
Posted: 2010-05-11 More...
 
More Announcements...

Vol 17, No 2 (2016): Illustration et Construction Narrative / Illustration and Narrative Construction Pt. II

Table of Contents

Thematic Cluster

L’illustration comme narration concurrente dans le livre auto-illustré (Bruno Schulz) PDF
Hélène Martinelli 1-13
Un juste retour des choses? Or the process in reverse: “Illustrating” texts, “textualising” illustrations (Moers and Doré) PDF
Anne Isabelle François 14-23
Weaving myth and history together: illustration as fabrication in David Mitchell’s Black Swan Green and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet. PDF
Claire Larsonneur 24-33
Dissected Narration in From Hell: a Graphic Translation of R. L. Stevenson’s Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde? PDF
Yannick Bellenger-Morvan 34-42
Mise en images, mise en récit : le conte d’E. T. A. Hoffmann Le Petit Zachée surnommé Cinabre1 (re)vu par Steffen Faust PDF
Patricia Viallet 43-60

Various Articles

Theatrical Films and Cinematic Novels: De dans van de reiger and L’Année dernière à Marienbad PDF
Peter Verstraten 61-73
Lively letters and the graphic narrative. Revisiting comics theory on word and image through the lens of two avant-garde children’s books. PDF
Sébastien Conard 74-85

Review Articles

Ed. Erika Balson & Hila Peleg, Documentary Across Disciplines PDF
Jan Baetens 86-87
Peter Dunlap-Shohl, My Degeneration. A Journey Through Parkinson’s PDF
Leni Van Goidsenhoven 88-91
Sascha Bru, Ben De Bruyn & Michel Delville (eds.), Literature Now: Key Terms and Methods for Literary History PDF
Birgit Van Puymbroeck 92-93


Online Magazine of the Visual Narrative - ISSN 1780-678X