Image & Narrative

Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples. Each issue features three parts: 1) a thematic cluster, guest-edited by specialized scholars in the field; 2) a selection of various articles; 3) reviews of recent publications. Image [&] Narrative is a bilingual journal, which publishes contributions in either English or French, and which fosters cross-cultural and interdisciplinary dialogue between linguistic and scientific traditions.

Announcements

 

Call for Papers

 
Articles can be submitted any time for the 'Various articles' section. For special issues, see CFP below.
 
Posted: 2010-05-14 More...
 

Issues in preparation

 

-"Transformed by Comics: the influence of comics/BD/graphic novels on the Novel", guest editors Hugo Frey (h.frey@chi.ac.uk ) and Chris Reyns-Chikuma (reynschi@ualberta.ca). (17.2 and 17.3)

-"Artaud and Cruelty", guest editor Angelos Koutsourakis (angelos.koutsourakis@uq.edu.au). (17.4)

- "The Audiovisual Production of Transcultural Memory in Europe", guest editors Astrid Erll, Univ. Frankfurt (erll@em.uni-frankfurt.de) and Ann Rigney, Univ. Utrecht (a.rigney@uu.nl). (18.1)

-"(Re)politiser les discours sur la photographie", guest-editors Jeroen Verbeeck (jeroen.verbeeck@arts.kuleuven.be), Anaïs Mauurin (mauuarin.anais@gmail.com), Eliane de Larminat (elianedelarminat@gmail.com), Vera Leon Escapades (vera.leon.eschapasse@gmail.com) & Alice Morin (alicemorin@laposte.net). (18.2)

-"Horace Walpole", guest editors Dr. Jakub Lipski, Kazimierz Wielki University, Bydgoszcz, Poland (j.lipski@ukw.edu.pl). (18.3)

 
Posted: 2010-05-11 More...
 
More Announcements...

Vol 17, No 1 (2016): Illustration et Construction Narrative / Illustration and Narrative Construction

Table of Contents

Thematic Cluster

Illustration et construction narrative - Avant-propos PDF
Carole Cambray, Xavier Giudicelli 1-4
Visualising the Cid and his Enemies in Print: The Matamoros Effect PDF
Lauren Beck 5-14
Narrative Form and Iconographic Sequence: Rockwell Kent’s Candide (1928) in Text and Image PDF
Christina Ionescu 15-28
«Images Obliques», un biais pour une histoire des illustrations de Sade PDF
Marie-Laure Delmas 29-42
Race in W.M. Thackeray's Vanity Fair and The Virginians PDF
Maurice A. Geracht 43-54
Fiction and Reality: text and image in two novels by Elisabeth Werner and Carolina Invernizio PDF
Giorgo Bacci 55-68

Various Articles

“We Must be Still and Still Moving:” Reimaging and Reimagining the Past in Adam Thorpe’s Still PDF
Ece Aykol 69-78
Tintin in America, or How to Describe a Place You’ve Never Been. A Medium Analysis. PDF
Jan Baetens 79-85
Facsimile: The Makings of the Similar in Graham Rawle’s Collage Novel Woman’s World PDF
Mikko Keskinen 86-100

Review Articles

Groupe MU, Principia Semiotica. Aux Sources du sens PDF
Jan Baetens 101-102
Danièle Méaux, Géo-Photographies. Une approche renouvelée des territoires PDF
Olivier Belon 103-104


Online Magazine of the Visual Narrative - ISSN 1780-678X